Ben Stein on pushing people around because of their religion

gold-christmas-orn

I have to say, I get a little (read “a lot”) tired of hearing my fellow Christians making a big deal out of “it’s okay to say Merry Christmas,” but I did find this quote by Ben Stein (not a Christian, and therefore not complaining on his own behalf) rather refreshing:

I am a Jew, and every single one of my ancestors was Jewish. And it does not bother me even a little bit when people call those beautiful lit up, bejewelled trees, Christmas trees. I don’t feel threatened. I don’t feel discriminated against. That’s what they are, Christmas trees….

I don’t like getting pushed around for being a Jew, and I don’t think Christians like getting pushed around for being Christians.

P.S. Those who are circulating a piece which implies that the above quote was in response to the White House recently using the term “holiday tree” have not done their homework. See Snopes for the full scoop.

photo credit: -Fearless- via photopin cc

Leave a Reply

